Bolton University Hon Doctorate Speech

Dr Maurizio Bragagni OBE
4 min readApr 17, 2022

14th July 2019

When you were young, you gird yourself, and walked where you would: but when you shall be old, you shall stretch forth your hands, and another shall gird you, and carry you where you would not. John chapter 21 verse 18;

Today we would translate this as: “When you were younger you dressed yourself and went where you wanted; but when you are old you will stretch out your hands, and someone else will dress you and lead you where you do not want to go.”

Life is a beautiful adventure — all of life. Sometimes the adventure takes twists and turns you didn’t choose, but that is part of the joy of being alive and walking towards your destiny.

This passage could describe my life. I believe you can only live to the fullest and achieve your full potential if you have faith in your destiny.

I am evidence of what belief can achieve. I had faith, I packed my bags and came to the UK without knowing the language. I trusted in the future that lay through that open door, however much I would have to learn to succeed, and it helped me make my way to where I am today.

--

--

Dr Maurizio Bragagni OBE

Author, Speaker, Hon. Consul @consolatorsmuk San Marino in U.K. NED @esharelife @IECstandards MSB member @BayesBSchool Hon. Sen. Vis. Fellow